, author: Ermakova M.

Orthodox Christians begin Great Lent

What foods can and cannot be eaten during the strictest and longest of the multi-day fasts of the Orthodox Church.

On February 27, Orthodox Christians begin Great Lent, which will last until April 15.

During Lent, meat is strictly prohibited, including sausages, sausages, pate, dairy products, eggs, rich bread, pastries, alcohol, and fish and vegetable oil are partially prohibited.

You can eat vegetables, fruits, berries, herbs, nuts, cereals, legumes, mushrooms, honey, as well as bakery products that do not contain butter and eggs.