, author: Ermakova M.

UEFA joins France Football and will co-organize the Ballon d'Or from 2024

The new union will entail the creation of two new awards: "Coach of the Year" and "Coach of the Year". The remaining rewards will be retained.

UEFA will join Groupe Amaury, the owner of France Football and L'Équipe, in co-hosting the Ballon d'Or from 2024, the body led by Aleksander Ceferin announced in a statement.

The new union will entail the creation of two new awards: "Coach of the Year" in men's and women's football. The remaining awards will remain: the men's and women's Ballon d'Or, the Kop Trophy, the Yashin Trophy, the Gerd Müller Trophy, the Men's and Women's Club Trophy of the Season and the Socrates Trophy.

“UEFA and the Ballon d'Or “are synonymous with sporting excellence, so our partnership will be a natural combination of recognition and synergy that promises to be nothing short of exceptional,” Čeferin emphasized.

For his part, Groupe Amaury CEO Jean-Etienne Amaury said that “we want the Ballon d'Or ceremony to become a global event that will showcase and highlight the talents of top-level footballers in their individual and collective performances.”

Lionel Messi.

Photo source: From Lionel Messi's social networks.

At the last awards ceremony, Leo Messi was recognized as the best football player in the world for the eighth time, and Aitana Bonmati received her first Ballon d'Or.

Both sides said one of the main motives for the alliance is to increase the relevance and global reach of the awards ceremony, as well as to promote “a sense of unity and cooperation within the football community.”

The last gala reception on the occasion of the Ballon d'Or was held on October 30 at the Chatelet Theater in Paris. Leo Messi won his eighth award and Aitana Bonmati was named the best player in the world in 2023, receiving her first Ballon d'Or.

For his part, Jude Bellingham received the Kopa Award as the best player in the world under 21, Vinicius was awarded the Socrates Award for public service, Emiliano Dibu Martinez received the Yashin Award as the best goalkeeper of the year, and Erling Haaland was recognized as the best striker of 2023 with the award Gerda Muller. In addition, Barcelona was named the best women's club of 2023, and Manchester City was named the best men's club of the year.

UEFA is the association of national football federations and is responsible for organizing and running qualifying tournaments such as the European Championship and the two most important club competitions: the Champions League and Europa League.

Founded in 1954 with the aim of promoting the sport on the European continent and solidarity between the various federations, its business currently exceeds 2 billion euros per year.